Flashback to the music of 1984

Here are the top 5 songs from 1984.

1. Prince, When Doves Cry.
2. Tina Turner, What’s Love Got to do with It.
3. Paul McCartney/Michael Jackson, Say Say Say.
4. Kenny Loggins, Footloose.
5. Phil Collins, Against All Odds (Take a Look at me Now).

That was a big year in pop music and I have vivid memories associated with some of these songs.
Anyone near my age can probably remember coming home from school and the “When Doves Cry” video was on MTV, seemingly all the time. (As well as “Let’s Go Crazy” and “Purple Rain” and some Morris Day and the Time songs from the movie). If I remember correctly it was the first single that came out of the Purple Rain album and had clips of the movie in the video and I remember people at school saying how much they wanted to see the movie. I was in junior high and also remember most of us figured we had a 50/50 chance of actually seeing it based on parent reactions to the video.

Then it seemed like every song released from that album was just better and better than the previous one. Of course, when “Purple Rain”, the song, came out, it was mandatory to play it at every school dance we had after that.

I love Tina Turner and she certainly seemed to have her fair share of video time on MTV, but at the time I’m not sure I appreciated her significance to the music world like I do now.

Am I the only one who finds it kinda strange that Paul McCartney and Michael Jackson actually had a hit duet? And a video? Maybe it’s just me.

Kenny Loggins, in my opinion, pretty much performed the soundtrack of the 1980s. More on that later. Needless to say everyone I knew had the Footloose soundtrack.

I loved Phil Collins. I love this song and a bunch of others from him during the 1980s.

To think, all those thoughts from that many years ago, just from the Top Five songs.

Leave a Reply

